A Paris!

Image


Approximately 3:30pm, February 14th, 2014, sitting in my Philosophy and Film class, bored out of my mind, trying not to fall asleep (no offence to the very nice prof).

I guess I didn’t get that scholarship either. We were meant to find out today. Oh well, at least I tried.

(opens email instead of listening to professor)

Email subject line: Roloff Beny Scholarship winners
Preview of first line of message: “Dear Applicants, Thank you for your considered and thoughtful letters in response to the Roloff Beny”

Yup, definitely didn’t get it because this is a general email, and they don’t usually send general emails to winners.

(opens email anyway)

“…blah blah blah… The committee has selected and congratulates
the following recipients:

Undergraduate: ….”

Holy crap…Holy crap…that’s my name…Holy crap! Don’t jump up and scream with excitement, you’re in class. You can’t jump up and scream in excitement!

________________________

Let’s backtrack a little. I moved to Toronto in the fall of 2011 to pursue a BFA in Photography Studies. I have been into art for as long as I can remember; I also love to learn, and I’ve always worked hard and done pretty well in school – which is perhaps why my parents expected I would be the child to pursue a career in law, science, etc.. I, on the other hand, never had any such intention.

I was never the best at drawing or painting, but I always thoroughly enjoyed art. As I neared the end of my secondary school education, I was exposed to sculpture, textiles, graphic design, among other media, and my love for art only continued to grow. It was only around the age of 16 or 17 that I began photography as a hobby. Within the next two years, this hobby would grow into something that I would ultimately come to pursue at university.

Now in my 3rd year of my BFA – it is terrifying how quickly time flies!! – I find myself beginning a new adventure as part of my university journey, one that has spurred me to – finally – create the blog I’ve wanted to create for so long!

My Parisian adventure began in early February, when I wrote what seemed like the millionth application for yet another scholarship or bursary (oh, the fun of being a university student!!). But this one was different. Instead of simply giving the winner money, it promised them the chance to travel to Paris to visit various world-renowned institutions home to even more well-known photographs and art to study the collections and archival management at these institutions (assuming that enough students were enrolled in the course…which, ultimately, there were!!).

With every passing day, I found myself longing after this trip more and more, however I tried not to get my hopes up to avoid severe disappointment.

I’m very close to my mum and usually tell her when I apply for anything, begging her to proof read and make sure I haven’t made any typos while writing in zombie-student mode. This time, I didn’t. Instead, I told her just one day before the winners were to be announced. The next evening when I told her I’d won it, she simply said, “I just had this gut feeling that you were going to get this one.” Maybe it’s because her dad was French…who knows.

Regardless, I am absolutely OVER THE FREAKING MOON that I won it. That my grandfather is French, that I had just recently finished exploring some of Eugene Atget’s photographic work in Paris, that I love traveling, and that I am a HUGE foodie – especially for le vin, le fromage, le pain et les pâtisseries!! – are just a few of the reasons that make this trip extra special and extra exciting for me and I can’t wait to share it with anyone out there who is reading.

If you’re interested in coming along for the ride, I’ll be doing my best to update this blog with my discoveries. After that, I’ll be back to life in Toronto…which I’m sure will seem far more mundane after my travels!

Until next time…au revoir!!

3 thoughts on “A Paris!

    • Thank you so much! Also, thanks for your feedback! I’m completely new and just got several emails in response to this – so it’s nice to know people were able to read the whole thing!

      Can’t wait to share the journey!

Leave a Reply

